Germany to Kick Off 2024 BetVictor World Cup of Darts Against New Zealand

World Cup of Darts 2024

The 2024 BetVictor World Cup of Darts is set to commence on Thursday, June 27, with host nation Germany facing New Zealand on the opening night at Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle. The tournament, running until June 30, features 40 teams competing for a share of the £450,000 prize fund and the prestigious title.

This year’s tournament will follow the successful format introduced last year, comprising group and knockout stages with doubles matches spanning four days of intense competition. The top four ranked nations, based on the lowest cumulative PDC Order of Merit ranking of their players, are seeded and will enter the fray in the second round.

Reigning champions Wales, alongside four-time winners England and Netherlands and two-time victors Scotland, will commence their campaigns in the last 16. The remaining 36 nations are divided into 12 groups of three for the round-robin phase, with each group’s winner advancing to the knockout stages.

Germany, led by Martin Schindler and Gabriel Clemens, aims for glory on home soil as they face 2019 quarter-finalists New Zealand and 2013 semi-finalists Finland in Group C. Australia’s 2022 champions Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock are set to lead Group D against Japan and Hong Kong.

Fifth-seeded Belgium, represented by Dimitri Van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts, will compete against Singapore and the Philippines in Group A. Northern Ireland’s Josh Rock, making his World Cup debut alongside Brendan Dolan, will face South Africa and Switzerland in Group B.

The Republic of Ireland will play Lithuania and Chinese Taipei in Group E, while Austria’s Rowby-John Rodriguez and Mensur Suljovic take on China and Guyana in Group F. Poland, led by Krzysztof Ratajski and Radek Szaganski, will battle Norway and Hungary in Group G.

Group H includes the Czech Republic, Bahrain, and Iceland, whereas Croatia, Malaysia, and Canada, led by North American Champion Matt Campbell, form Group I. France’s quarter-finalists from last year, Jacques Labre and Thibault Tricole, will face Latvia and Denmark in Group J.

In Group K, Sweden, Spain, and Gibraltar will compete, while the USA, Portugal, and Italy compete in Group L. The teams losing on Thursday will face the third team from their group in Friday’s afternoon session, with the decisive group games scheduled for Friday evening.

Following the group stage, the draw for the last 16 will be conducted on Friday evening, introducing England, Wales, Netherlands, and Scotland into the competition in Saturday’s second round. World Champion Luke Humphries will debut alongside Michael Smith for top seeds England, while Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton aim to secure a third title for defending champions Wales.

Michael van Gerwen returns to the World Cup to partner with Danny Noppert for the Netherlands, and Peter Wright and Gary Anderson will represent Scotland. The top four seeds will be pre-allocated into the last 16 draw bracket, with 12 group winners drawn at random.

The second round is scheduled for Saturday, with quarter-finals, semi-finals, and the final to be held on a packed Finals Day in Frankfurt on Sunday.

2024 BetVictor World Cup of Darts

Venue: Eissporthalle, Frankfurt, Germany
Dates: June 27-30, 2024

Seeded Nations – Second Round


Group Stage Draw

GroupSeed NationTeam 2Team 3
BNorthern IrelandSouth AfricaSwitzerland
CGermanyNew ZealandFinland
DAustraliaJapanHong Kong
ERepublic of IrelandLithuaniaChinese Taipei
HCzech RepublicBahrainIceland

Draw Bracket – Second Round Onwards

1England vs TBD
2Scotland vs TBD
3Wales vs TBD
4Netherlands vs TBD

Session Schedule

DateTime (Local/BST)SessionMatches
Thursday, June 271900 / 1800Group Stage – First MatchesTeam 1 vs Team 2 from each group
Friday, June 281200 / 1100Group Stage – Second MatchesLoser First Match vs Team 3
1900 / 1800Group Stage – Final MatchesWinner First Match vs Team 3
Saturday, June 291300 / 1200Second Round4 matches
1900 / 1800Second Round4 matches
Sunday, June 301300 / 1200Quarter-Finals4 matches
1900 / 1800Semi-Finals & Final3 matches
The World Cup of Darts Schedule

Match Format

Group StageBest of 7 legs
Second RoundBest of 15 legs
Quarter-FinalsBest of 15 legs
Semi-FinalsBest of 15 legs
FinalBest of 19 legs

Competing Nations & Pairings

AustraliaDamon Heta, Simon Whitlock
AustriaRowby-John Rodriguez, Mensur Suljovic
BahrainBasem Mahmood, Duda Durra
BelgiumDimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts
CanadaMatt Campbell, David Cameron
ChinaXiaochen Zong, Chengan Liu
CroatiaBoris Krcmar, Romeo Grvabac
Czech RepublicAdam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek
DenmarkBenjamin Reus, Claus Bendix Nielsen
EnglandLuke Humphries, Michael Smith
FinlandTeemu Harju, Marko Kantele
FranceThibault Tricole, Jacques Labre
GermanyMartin Schindler, Gabriel Clemens
GibraltarJustin Hewitt, Craig Galliano
GuyanaNorman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald
Hong KongLok Yin Lee, Man Lok Leung
HungaryGabor Jagica, Nandor Major
IcelandArngrimur Olafsson, Petur Rudrik Gudmundsson
IrelandWilliam O’Connor, Keane Barry
ItalyMichele Turetta, Massimo Dalla Rosa
JapanTomoya Goto, Ryusei Azemoto
LatviaMadars Razma, Valters Melderis
LithuaniaDarius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas
MalaysiaSiik Hwang Wong, Mohd Nasir Bin Jantan
NetherlandsMichael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert
New ZealandHaupai Puha, Ben Robb
Northern IrelandJosh Rock, Brendan Dolan
NorwayCor Dekker, Håkon Bjørge Helling
PhilippinesChristian Perez, Alexis Toylo
PolandKrzysztof Ratajski, Radek Szaganski
PortugalJose de Sousa, David Gomes
ScotlandPeter Wright, Gary Anderson
SingaporePaul Lim, Harith Lim
South AfricaJohan Geldenhuys, Cameron Carolissen
SpainJose Justicia, Jesus Noguera
SwedenJeffrey de Graaf, Oskar Lukasiak
SwitzerlandStefan Bellmont, Bruno Stöckli
Chinese TaipeiTeng-Lieh Pupo, An-Sheng Lu
USADanny Lauby, Jules van Dongen
WalesGerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton
The World Cup of Darts Pairings Confirmed

Prize Fund (Per Team)

PositionPrize Money
Semi-Final Losers£30,000
Quarter-Final Losers£20,000
Last 16 Losers£9,000
Second in Group£5,000
Third in Group£4,000
World Cup of Darts prizes

The BetVictor World Cup of Darts will be broadcast on Sky Sports for viewers in the UK & Ireland, through the PDC’s international broadcast partners, including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV for the Rest of the World Subscribers.

Scroll to Top